Title Image

2023 Waterfowl Festival Heritage Art Competition

We are pleased to announce that we will once again present the Waterfowl Festival Heritage Art Award Competition. Paintings of all subject matter and media are eligible. 

Judging will take place on Thursday, November 9 between 1:00 – 2:30 pm.  Each entry must be identified and displayed at the artist’s exhibit space by 12:00 noon. The winning paintings must remain on display at the artist’s booth, if possible, until the show closes.



  • 1st place winner will receive a cash award of $2,500 plus certificate and ribbon;
  • 2nd place winner will receive a cash award of $1,500 plus certificate and ribbon;
  • 3rd place will receive a cash award of $1,000 plus certificate and ribbon

Rules for Submission:

All artwork must be the artist’s original creation, neither copied nor duplicated from previously published art, including paintings, drawings in any medium or published photographs, or from images including the artist’s own previously completed or published work or, from images in any format published or available on the internet.


You may submit one or two pieces. Please use the form below to provide the number and dimensions of each piece you intend to enter.  The artwork may be the subject and medium of your choice, must be framed to museum standards, and wired ready to hang. Compositions shall be no smaller than 11 x 14 nor larger than 24 x 30. Submit the form by November 1, 2023.


A panel of three judges has been appointed by the Waterfowl Festival Art Committee to judge the eligible art. The judges are a representative cross section of people with knowledge of effective artistic expression, method, and design. Judges serve without compensation.

Judging Criteria: 


  • Creativity, uniqueness, and originality
  • Quality of artistic composition and overall design
  • Color and tone
  • Overall impression of art


Judging Procedures:


STEP 1: The judges will evaluate and rate each designated artwork piece on a scale of 10 to 1 [with 10 being the highest and 1 the lowest].
STEP 2: The pieces receiving the ten (10) highest scores will be then be judged on a scale of 1 [with 1 representing the very top or 1st place] to 10 [with 10 representing the very bottom or 10th place];
STEP 3: The piece with lowest total cumulative score will be designated by the judges as “1st place”, the piece with the second lowest score designated as “2nd place” and, the piece with the third lowest score designated as “3rd place”.


In case of ties for either 1st, 2nd or 3rd place, the judges will re-judge the tied pieces in accordance with step 3 order to determine/finalize the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place pieces; the selection of the awarded artwork by the judges shall be final.


NOTE: The judges reserve the right to withhold the granting of monetary awards if, in their sole opinion and discretion, the submitted artwork is not in accordance with the stipulated guidelines.

Interested artists must complete the form below by November 1st, 2023

window.wpbCustomElement = 1;

The Heritage Award will return in 2024!

Registration for the competition will open in the Fall of 2024